Revelation

Revelation 15 Devotion

I couldn’t believe James was about to let me play his guitar. When I was in high school there was a family friend that was a fantastic musician. His name was James and he owned a 1964 Epiphone acoustic guitar. James would sit on the front porch of our friends house and sing rock, gospel, and country music. I was fascinated by the way he could play and sing that incredible guitar. James had this captivating personality and could always cheer you up. I wasn’t sure how much his guitar was worth, but I knew it was worth a lot more than mine and I never dared to ask to play it. James knew I was learning to play and we both loved the same music. One day we were sitting on the porch and he held out his guitar and said, play that new country song we both like. I accepted and started playing Wagon Wheel by Darius Rucker. I dug the pick into the strings as we started belting “Heyyyyyy Heyyyyyy Mamma Rock Me.” I love music! I love playing music and singing even more. In Revelation 15, John sees a vision of God handing harps to the people who had been victorious over Satan. Can you imagine how incredible it would be to have God himself craft you and hand you a harp? “Then I saw in heaven another marvelous event of great significance. Seven angels were holding the seven last plagues, which would bring God’s wrath to completion. I saw before me what seemed to be a glass sea mixed with fire. And on it stood all the people who had been victorious over the beast and his statue and the number representing his name. They were all holding harps that God had given them. And they were singing the song of Moses, the servant of God, and the song of the Lamb: “Great and marvelous are your works, O Lord God, the Almighty. Just and true are your ways, O King of the nations. Who will not fear you, Lord, and glorify your name? For you alone are holy. All nations will come and worship before you, for your righteous deeds have been revealed.” (Revelation‬ ‭15:1-4‬ ‭NLT‬‬). In the midst of all of the chaos of the 7 angels and the plagues, the people of Christ gather together with their harps from God and worship the Almighty. They start praising God for how incredible and how holy He is. Let this be a great reminder that God is sovereign and worthy to be praised. He deserves our worship when things are going well. He wants our worship when things are going poorly. He should get our worship when things are going crazy. Sing to the Lord! Worship Him with gladness and thanksgiving. James and I would worship Jesus with that old Epiphone guitar. I think we were just practicing for what we get to do for eternity in Heaven….. worshipping our Savior. Thank You Jesus for your goodness and grace.

Questions 1.) If you could inherit any musical instrument from anyone in the world, who would it be and what would the instrument be?    2.). In your own words, describe what you think the worship area will look like in Heaven?

Leave a comment